2011 GMC Terrain 4TL-R retrofit

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 2011 GMC Terrain 4TL-R retrofit

Finally got my retrofit finished on my 2011 Terrain that I've been working on for the past 9 months on and off. Having a 1 year old forced me to take my time rounding everything up and assembling it all.

What I used:
    4TL-R projectors
    Potted Denso Slims
    Osram Nightbreakers
    Philips 9011 HIR
    High beam splitter
    Anti-flicker capacitor
    Morimoto relay harness

Originally I tried to go with OEM 4G TL projectors, which have the same bolt pattern but you have to widen the mounting bracket to fit them in. I bought them from yellow_cake who added a MH1 solenoid & shield to them, but needed tuning which was perfect since I was planning on doing all that myself anyways. But to get a good cutoff it seemed like I had to sacrifice a good amount of the hotspot and it was giving me nothing but problems every step of the way. So that's out.

So now I got 4TL-R projectors from Lightwerkz and surprisingly they bolt right in without cutting anything! So first thing I did was make foreground limiters and paint the demon eyes

This one was just a rough draft I made while I was stuck at work and couldn't test how it looked. I made a few before I settled on the final one

The 4TL-R is way shorter than the OEM 4G's which is awesome cause with the 4G I would've had extend the bulb caps. But it was also disappointing cause I already went through the effort to make a solution

I trimmed down and cut notches into bulb caps from an Acadia and I was gonna epoxy them to the factory caps. But oh well, one less thing to go wrong lol.

4TL-R on top. They are tiny compared to what I was expecting

Next was getting the igniter though the housing and figuring out what I'm gonna do with the ballast

I didn't get any pictures of how I mounted it but I stuck 2 bolts through bottom of the housing.