Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Koito Bi-LED 2.0 in 2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Hello Everyone,

Newbie here, I have been playing with the idea of retrofitting HID's and then Murano LED units for years now, first in my 1996 Jeep Cherokee, then I upgraded to a Grand Cherokee and for a while I ditched the retrofit idea.

I upgraded the 9006 halogen bulbs to 9012 HIR2, with modified connectors to fit in the Grand Cherokee housings but the bulbs burned out in less than a year.

Following a long trip when I had to drive at night and in the rain, the 9006's were barely adequate so I started reading hidplanet again. Found a set of RX350 projectors locally and when talking with the seller he suggested I get LED projectors.

A day later, I bought a set of Koito Bi-LED projectors, which appear to be the 2.0 version according to this topic: https://www.hidplanet.com/forums/for...ito-bi-led-2-0

Here are the projectors:

Here's the car they are going in:

Since legislation here is strict regarding light mods, I plan to keep the halogen low beam as DRL (law mandates low beam must be on at all times) and install the projectors in the high-beam reflector.
    Halogen low-beam turns on together with the parking lights, low-beam uses projector low-beam and high-beam uses projector high-beam

Are you going to remove the whole reflector or mod it somehow to take the biled? Interested to see how you proceed. Just remember the projector's low beam output should be aligned with the one from the low beam reflector not the high beam.
    2006 Grand Vitara 3dr
    Projector swap: MH1 7.0, XB35, XB 4500K, custom wiring
    CAD designed adapter plate

Comment

I'm planning to mod the reflector to fit the bi-led in, that way I can keep the factory height adjustment, really useful, as this thing squats down when loaded
      The retrofit in the high-beam reflector would look like this:

Good point on alignment.