Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Troubleshooting Morimoto Elite Setup

Greetings everyone,

Creating this thread in hopes I might get some input that can help me troubleshoot my new Morimoto Elite HID setup I purchased for my fog lights. This is my first time attempting any type of install like this, so I want to make sure it's not a case of user error.

Setup: Morimoto Elite H8
    • 2 x Morimoto 35w HD ballasts
    • 2 x Morimoto XB 3000K bulbs
    • 2 x Morimoto ignitors
    • 1 x Morimoto HD relay harness
    Vehicle: 2013 Infiniti FX50
    • Upgrading factory fog light bulbs to HID
    • Factory fog lights are externally wired
    Issue: Fog lights won't turn on after install
    1. Unpacked my new Morimoto Elite HID setup and all parts were accounted for, with the exception of mounting brackets for the ballasts
    2. Test fit all connections to make sure everything was in good working condition
    3. Using the supplied test lead, applied power through the ballast, ignitor and bulb to confirm all were in working order
    4. Both sets of ballasts/lights were flickering during the test, but I attributed this to the test leads not being securely connected to the battery
    5. Completed install of all aforementioned parts
    6. Fog lights will not turn on
    Granted, this is my first time attempting any type of HID/electrical installation on my vehicle, but I believe I followed the directions supplied by TRS correctly and with attention to detail.

https://www.theretrofitsource.com/me...System-H11.pdf

Since I confirmed that power supplied directly to the ballast will ignite the bulbs, this leads me to believe that power may not be making it to the harness. Or that the harness may not be properly routing the power to the ballasts. Or it could even be an issue with grounding.

So I suppose my first question is, do the connections for power and ground in the pictures below look to be correct?