Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

How bad does a chip in the lens mess with light output?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How bad does a chip in the lens mess with light output?

Hey guys this is my first time doing a proper retrofit and I have a quick question. I purchased a set of the value FX-R (3") projectors a few days ago and finally have them in my hands. So far the only defects I've found are each lens has a small chip on the edge. On one the chip is at about 7 o' clock and the other at about 12 o' clock. I can live with the physical blemish as I'm on a budget but will these mess with the cutoff?

2ph8JJyl.jpg

I won't have a chance to light them up for a bit and I'm pretty excited so I was hoping someone out here could give some advice. Thanks!

Extra Info:
    Not sure if this matters but I will be running these with Phillips 85122+bulbs at 35 watts.

Test them out but I don't think they'll affect anything.

Comment

Those shouldn't affect the output noticeably.

Comment

A chip on the edge will not effect output from what I have seen personally.
        Anthony
        2011 Ford Fiesta SES Hatchback
        2008 Wrangler Unlimited FX-R Retrofit
        2011 Fiesta Retrofit Number 2

Comment

I know this is not directly related to this particular question, but how bad would output be reduced if the headlights themselves have tiny little chips all over, peppered almost? The lenses are clear, no haze or anything, just sand blasted basically. Am I missing out in light output because of this? Or do the chips in the headlight lenses not really effect the output? Thanks for your input!
          Morimoto H1 5.0
          XenonDepot Volt Ballasts
          Morimoto 35W 5000K Bulbs
          Morimoto Relay Harness
          All Exterior Lights (besides Low beams and High beams) Converted to LEDs via V-LEDs

Comment

Originally posted by KingAirPilot View Post