Do headlights NEED breathers?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Do headlights NEED breathers?

Do headlights really need breathers. Those rubbery nob-like pieces on the back of the housing. What would happen if they didn't exist and the housing was fully sealed?
    I'm interested mainly because I want to convert a pair of ruined 7" sealed beam housings to something that has a plastic lens, a bixenon projector and a sealed serviceable back. But seeing as to how I am lacking in the vent/breather knowledge department, I may as well know what I'm getting myself into. What drawbacks if any would I face if I didn't install one? And if they're necessary, is there a diy guide out there or do I have to retrofit one?
    Any suggestions concerning the retrofit itself are also welcome.
    2006 Grand Vitara 3dr
    Projector swap: MH1 7.0, XB35, XB 4500K, custom wiring
    CAD designed adapter plate, manual leveling motors

How to use Imgur to embed photos

My day job isn't designing automotive headlights, but I've had interest in this topic in various past threads. I haven't seen (either first hand or from forum posts) OE housings for low beams (i.e. I'm excluding lower power sealed units for things like sidemarkers or turn signals) that don't have a vent. My assumption has been that since low beam units generate high enough heat (either mostly radiated on the same side as the beam like halogens and HIDs or on the back end like LEDs) that the change in air pressure may be big enough to instigate a small leak. And when the negative pressure induces leak, it could take in moisture which due to the sealed nature, would not be sufficiently evacuated even when the temperature inside rises again. As a result, it is best to provide the atmospheric vent to hasten this equilibration.

Of the housing's I've seen, including small housings that are meant to weather proof auxiliary foglights, they have some means of small vent opening somewhere.