Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New here!

Hi yall!

I have a 2004 Dodge Ram 3500 that Id like to upgrade lighting for. The lights are completely stock, but Id really like to try retrofitting. I was on the retrofit source looking at a kit they make specifically for my truck but it was relatively pricey ($700 for projectors, shrouds, ballasts, bulbs, and wiring harness) so Id like to try to source my own parts.

Sample list (could change):

Morimoto Mini D2S 5.0 Bixenon

Morimoto HID bulbs 6500K

Morimoto XB35 2.0 ballasts

Morimoto Mopar Spec 9007 Bixenon harness

Morimoto turbine shrouds

JB Weld clear rtv

Comes to a grand total of a little under $400 courtesy of eBay.

As Ive said Im new to this so other than what I have, what else can I use? Do all projectors fit or am I limited to a certain size? Do I have to get a projector specific shroud? How do I know if a projector will be compatible electronics wise with my vehicle? Anything else you guys can tell me. Thanks!

Welcome.

For the projector, there are some threads here comparing Morimoto Mini D2S 5.0 to the G5R (generic) family, and it seems that the G5R have some benefits compared to how the Mini D2S 5.0 is set up.

For projector size, it is difficult to know ahead of time. In general, the Mini H1 family has a smaller package than the Mini D2S. The smaller the projector is, the lesser reflector bowl area it usually has. The total reflective area relative to the location where the bulb opening is can affect the maximum brightness at the hotspot. This is because the bowl area around the bulb opening has the highest beam density potential from an ideal point source of light. The more that area is taken away by a bulb opening, the lower the potential output is. If you have a spare headlight housing, then it is best to open up one and check the dimensions of a potential projector. There is at least one thread here that lists critical projector dimensions of many projectors.