Custom Reverse light

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Custom Reverse light

So I have an outlander sport, bought a rear fog light for a RVR/ASX, going to make my first attempt at high power leds.

Plan is to remove the red lens, place a piece of lexan in place of it, I was going to cut out as much as I can from the back without affect mounting (1 5/8" H x 3.5 " W) I've never worked with high power leds before but I kind of have a decent idea on the basics. I was thinking of using XP-G2 3-up boards https://www.ledsupply.com/leds/cree-...5-high-density was thinking of using a total of 3, I'm unsure of what the best combination of optics would be for the reverse setup. (optics from here: https://www.ledsupply.com/cree-xpg2-led-optics)

Also I understand with high power leds I wouldn't use resistors but use a driver, I was thinking 1000 mA. From what I have read I think the XP-G2 has a maximum of 1500mA (could be wrong)

I was going to wire 1 driver per led and connect them all to the reverse light trigger.

And for the heatsink I was going to get a finned piece of aluminum and place all three on it or possibly use 3 of these: https://www.ledsupply.com/led-heatsi...atsink-housing

I might be getting a little over my head with all this but I really want to do something custom and learn this. I can't seem to find much on using high power leds

Funny, I bought a triple 3 Cree XPG-2 star and a dynamic housing from LEDSupply a while ago and finally assembled it today. I'm using a 1400ma BuckBlock driver, already had it before purchasing the other components. They assured me resistors were not needed so I didn't use any. Assembly is pretty straightforward,I used one of these little plastic clamps https://www.harborfreight.com/micro-...-pc-69375.html to hold the wire to the board while I soldered it.