Thread: Can I run a HID in a reflector housing ?

New Member HID Newbie moflitchy's Avatar

Can I run a HID in a reflector housing ?

I'm just learning about HID and retro'ing so this is a definite noob question - I was wondering what the difference's are between a reflector bowl and a HID based bowl (mainly the shroud that sit's in front of the bulb) or is it on the backing lens that is reflecting the light that makes the difference in the light pattern ? I want to set up some HID's in my stock Halogen housings. oh yeah, I have a 2002 Subaru Legacy.
    to get started on the electrical portion I am going to run the relay harness, and mount the ballast to a set of D2R's in my Halogen stock lamps so at least I have the wiring and HID completed.
    What I am wondering is if I can modify the beam pattern some how in my stock housings, and would I be okay, or is it going to be scattered,and illuminating everywhere. I'm in the process of accumulating the necessary parts to attempt my first retro using some FXR projectors into a stock Legacy housing, but that will probably be in the near future. Any information is greatly appreciated, like I said I'm just learning about HID after weeks of reading through this forum's postings.

Senior Member HID Rookie
    If you plan to do retro with FX-R in the near future, wait till then. Now, just stick to your halogen headlights to save some money.
    Reflector halogen headlights usually don't take HID well, compared to projector halogen headlights. It is the backing lens that is reflecting light.
    2008 Toyota Camry LE I4
    S2K Retrofit Headlight - Osram 66240SVS
    TRD 18 Wheel, Navigation system
    LED-heat-fold Turn Signal Side Mirror w/ JDM Switch
    OEM fog light, integrating to Turn Signal Switch

Junior Member HID Newbie